Merrimac Yard Waste Permits are now available here!
You must register for the site and then apply for a permit.
2021 Open Burning Season is Over
Open Burning season is over for 2021, and burning is no longer allowed. Permit applications for the 2022 season will open here January 1, 2022. Open Burning is allowed in Massachusetts from January 15 to May 1.
Your Fire Chief
Chief Fisher has spent the entirety of his firefighting career in service to Merrimac, and has a deep commitment to the safety of its residents.
Safe Burning Tips
Learn more about outdoor burning safety, from fire pits to brush and forestry debris.
FAQs and Laws
Find answers to your questions about this website, as well information about laws related to open burning.
A burn permit is required for open burning in Merrimac. Open burning season is January 15 through May 1 between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m.
On days that you are burning, you must activate your burn by logging into the firepermits.com portal.
Weather conditions, lack of rain and moisture, wind and other factors may suspend the granting of an authorization to begin burning at any time. IF conditions do not allow for open burning, you will be unable to activate your burn.
Yard Waste Permit
A Yard Waste Permit is required for using the Merrimac Yard Waste site to dispose of brush for all Merrimac residents and business owners. With a Yard Waste Permit you have unlimited access to brush disposal when the site is open.
Yard Waste includes: Grass, clippings, leaves, and brush.
There are three tiers of Yard Waste Permit:
- General Public $50/year per vehicle
- Seniors (70+) $20/year per vehicle
- Commercial Disposal $500/year per vehicle
Upon permit approval, the permit must be printed and placed in the vehicle windshield so that the license plate number is visible. The license plate number on the permit must match that of the vehicle or you will be denied entry.
Yard Waste Site Location: The Yard Waste disposal site is located on Battis Road. Take Church Street which becomes Highland Road, and Battis Road is the last left just before the New Hampshire border.
Hours/Days of Site Operation: Fridays and Saturdays 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. from April 9 through November 27
ready to burn?
If you’re burning in Merrimac you will need to activate your permit on the day of your burn.
Activate your burn permit by logging into your account.
Burning is only allowed between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m.